Devoted to You.
Winning for Your Future.
You can challenge it. A wear-and-tear denial is your insurer’s conclusion about what caused the damage, and in Michigan, the insurer has the burden of proving that an exclusion applies. Get the reasons and the evidence in writing, get your own inspection, prove when the storm hit, and track the one-year deadline to sue, which pauses only while your claim is pending.
Our property damage claims attorneys at Vahdat Weisman Law represent Michigan homeowners in property insurance disputes. Call (734) 469-4994 for a free consultation. No attorney fee unless we recover for you.
Many homeowners policies exclude loss caused by “wear and tear,” “deterioration,” “latent defect,” or similar wording. The exclusion targets damage from age and ordinary use: shingles curled and stripped of granules by years of sun, dried-out sealant, rusted flashing.
That exclusion does not say an old roof has no coverage. Wear and tear describes the roof’s condition; the windstorm or hailstorm is the covered peril. If hail fractured your 15-year-old shingles, the hail caused the damage even though the shingles weren’t new. The real question is what caused the specific damage you are claiming.
Your own policy wording controls, including any roof-specific endorsement that adds rules for older roofs or cosmetic damage. Michigan courts enforce clear policy language as written (Rory, 473 Mich 457 (2005)) and read genuinely ambiguous provisions against the insurer.
You have to show that your loss falls within the coverage: a policy in force, a covered storm, and damage to your roof from it. If your insurer relies on an exclusion such as wear and tear, the insurer must prove that the exclusion applies. The Michigan Supreme Court stated that division plainly: the insured proves coverage, “while the insurer must prove that an exclusion to coverage is applicable” (Heniser, 449 Mich 155 (1995)). Heniser was a fire loss decided on other grounds, but the burden statement is the Court’s.
Concurrent causation. Some policies say an excluded cause bars coverage “regardless of any other cause or event contributing concurrently or in any sequence.” Whether your policy has that wording, and whether it reaches the exclusion your insurer cited, depends on the exact text; in many forms, wear and tear sits in a section without it.
Ensuing loss. Many exclusions carve out a covered loss that follows from the excluded cause. A policy might exclude deterioration but still cover water damage to your ceilings when a storm drives rain through a weakened roof. Wording varies, so read yours.
When both causes are present, your aim is to separate them. A good independent report says which damage came from the storm, which came from age, and why.
Michigan requires property policies to cover at least the actual cash value of the property at the time of loss (MCL 500.2833(1)(a)). Actual cash value usually means replacement cost minus depreciation, and an older roof carries more depreciation.
If you have replacement cost coverage, many policies release the withheld depreciation only after the work is completed, often within a stated time. Check that condition in your policy. A dispute over how much depreciation applies is usually about the amount of loss; a dispute over whether the storm caused the damage is about coverage.
In appraisal, each side picks an independent appraiser, the two pick an umpire, and a written agreement signed by two of the three sets the amount. Each side pays its own appraiser and splits the umpire’s cost (MCL 500.2833(1)(m)). Our insurance appraisal process page explains it in detail.
If the insurer has not admitted liability, the trial court decides coverage before ordering appraisal (Maksym, Docket No. 372827 (Mich Ct App, Feb. 24, 2026), published). A full wear-and-tear denial usually means coverage is not admitted. If your insurer paid part of the claim and denied the rest, the analysis can differ.
Twelve percent interest. Within 30 days after receiving your claim, your insurer must tell you in writing what it needs as satisfactory proof of loss (MCL 500.2006(3)). Benefits owed to you that are not paid on time carry simple interest at 12% per year from 60 days after the insurer received satisfactory proof of loss (MCL 500.2006(4)). For a policyholder, that interest does not depend on whether the claim was “reasonably in dispute,” a limit that applies only to third-party claimants (Nickola, 500 Mich 115 (2017)). See our underpaid and delayed insurance claims page.
No emotional-distress or punitive damages. A homeowners claim is a contract case. Michigan generally does not allow damages for emotional distress or exemplary (punitive) damages for an insurer’s breach of its policy (Kewin, 409 Mich 401 (1980)), and it does not recognize a separate bad-faith tort for a wrongly denied first-party claim. What you can recover is what the policy owed, plus statutory interest.
See also our denied roof claims and storm, wind and hail damage claims pages.
A wear-and-tear denial is a causation dispute, decided on the policy’s exact wording, the insurer’s inspection file, an independent expert’s findings, and a timeline that keeps the one-year suit period intact. We start by getting those records and working out the tolling dates.
From our Livonia office, we represent injured people and their families throughout Michigan. Founding partners Kara E. Weisman and Jordan S. Vahdat have each been honored as Super Lawyers Rising Stars. Our attorneys are members of the State Bar of Michigan and active in the Michigan Association for Justice. We advance case costs, we work in English and Spanish, and we are available 24/7.
Jordan S. Vahdat is a founding partner of Vahdat Weisman Law in Livonia and handles negligence, premises liability, auto accident, and insurance dispute cases. He has been admitted to all Michigan state courts since 2014, practices in the Eastern District of Michigan, and has served as a case evaluator for the Washtenaw Circuit Trial Court and the 15th District Court since 2020. He is fluent in Spanish.
If your roof claim was denied as wear and tear, call Vahdat Weisman Law at (734) 469-4994 or contact us online for a free consultation. Bring the denial letter, your policy, and any photos. Available 24/7, serving all of Michigan, with Spanish-speaking staff.
Dedicated to Justice. Devoted to You. Winning for Your Future.
Reviewed by Jordan S. Vahdat, Vahdat Weisman Law. Last reviewed October 2026.
This information is for educational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. Every case is unique, and prior results do not guarantee future success.