Accidents happen and disrupt the lives of Michigan residents. When a person suffers injuries and property losses in a motor vehicle accident, their entire world can be turned upside down. They may discover that they are unable to work while recuperating from their injuries. They may begin to receive medical bills that seem insurmountable to cover. They may fear that they will not be able to care for themselves and their loved ones as they did in the past.
As readers may know, victims of personal injury accidents have legal rights to seek compensation when their harm was caused by the negligence of others. In some cases, a party may choose to settle their claims out of court. In others they may choose to litigate their claims. If they file a lawsuit, they must do so in accordance with the state’s statute of limitations.
Three years for a personal injury claim
Under Michigan law, a victim of a personal injury accident has three years from the date of their injury to file their personal injury claims. If they fail to do so within the 3-year framework they may be barred from bringing their suit in the future. Though 3 years may seem like a long time, it can pass by quickly as an individual attempts to get back on their feet after an accident.
Finding the best path to recovery
As mentioned, some personal injury claims can be settled out of court, but others benefit from being brought to the courts through litigation. Before a victim decides on a path for their claims, they should consider speaking with an attorney that handles personal injury cases. Every case is different and has different facts, and an attorney with personal injury litigation knowledge may provide useful insights to a victim to help them decide how to move forward.